May 24, 2015

#1677: Paldo Rabokki Noodle (Export Version)

A couple years back, I did a Meet Ther Manufacturer with Paldo, a South Korean company. I was stoked to get a pack of this Rabokki back then and asked if it would ever be in the United States. It sounded like there weren’t any plans to bring it this way and I was bummed – really bummed. Well, bummed no more, I can happily announce that it’s gracing store shelves in the USA now! Rabokki is a fusion of ramyun and topokki Topokki is what you see there on top of the noodles on the package – finger length rice cakes that are chewy – about the consistency of string cheese, served most popularly in a thick sweet and spicy sauce. I will say it’s probably one of my favorite foods of all time – especially the way I’ve tried it lately at a local place called Chi-Mc n Hot Pot, with cream cheese – egad it’s really good. Let’s check out this ramyun-topokki fusion from Paldo!

Here’s the back of the package (click image to enlarge). Looks to be meat free but check for yourself. To prepare, add everything to 400ml boiling water and cook for 4 minutes. Stir and enjoy!

The gigantic ramyun block!

The soup base sachet.

Has a nice spicy scent.

Topokki sauce!

Smells like happiness.

Finished (click image to enlarge). Added kamaboko, mung bean sprouts and spring onion. The noodles plumped up just perfectly – thick and a good chew. The broth is more of a sauce and it’s very rich – spicy and sweet – like an adult version of Spaghetti-O’s which I find delectable. 5.0 out of 5.0 stars. UPC bar code 648436101054.

Rabokki Noodle 5.11 Oz (Pack of 4)

Making Rabokki at home.

Products cooked according to package instructions. Product reviews done prior to adding any additional ingredients.

4 thoughts on “#1677: Paldo Rabokki Noodle (Export Version)

  1. Keir Hardie

    Not only does it appear to be meat-free, but vegan too! A lot of instant ramen is almost vegan but falls down on something tiny like disodium inosinate (E635), Paldo is better than most manufacturers in this regard, they don’t just stick it in everything, their Hwa Ramyun Hot & Spicy also appears to be vegan.

    Reply
  2. Keir Hardie

    It’s generally derived from meat of fish. It CAN be derived from tapioca starch too, so it’s possible that something with E635 in is vegan, but generally that level of detail isn’t available! I only know this because my wife’s a vegan and when I try new ramen I keep an eye out for ones that she can eat too. I had this one today, very tasty, glad I’ll be able to share it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply